Reviews

A Quarrel Called-Blog Tour

A Quarrel Called (Stewards of the Plane #1)

by Shannon Wendtland

Publisher: a Crossed Arrows Title

Release Date: June 20th 2016

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Rate: 4/5 stars

Synopsis:
The Sage, The Guardian, The Lantern, The Light – together we four are Stewards of the Plane, a Quarrel.
G. is the Guardian; he’s developed a strong protective instinct and a kickass sword of light that can chase away the baddies like nobody’s business.
Sam is the Lantern; his dreams shed light on possible futures – he’s always had dreams, but now he sees where we’re going and how far, and it scares the crap out of him.
Tara is the Sage; as our resident mystic, she can commune with the Akashic records: the big data warehouse in the sky. She can get information on anywhere, anywhen, if only she can learn to ask the right questions.
And me, I’m Melody, I’m the Light. I can channel the earth’s energy and according to Gramps, I can stabilize a vortex. It’s a good thing, too, or else we would be in a lot of trouble.
Before the summer started, we were a bunch of normal teenagers getting ready for our senior year in high school. By the time summer was over, we’d fought and won battles, lost friends and saved the world (except for that time when we made it worse).
This is our story. We wrote it all down; that way when it happens to you, when you’re called to be a Steward of the Plane – a member of a quarrel, you’ll know what to do.
**This book is told in first person from four alternating character viewpoints.

 

I didn’t really know what to expect going into this book, the concept sounded really interesting and maybe that is why I decided to give it a try. First off this is told in four alternating character viewpoints, and while some may find this a distraction, I felt that the story flowed quite well. I am left with some things I don’t quite understand, some question I hope can get answered in the second book. First let me say I love the cover, the purple is slightly different and quite beautiful.
So I didn’t mind the four different voices, I could have probably mixed up the two main female characters slightly, but that was really the only issue with it. Yet these two characters are different. Melody is the one having a hard time with the changes going on in her life. She seems to flip flop with being really stressed about it and having some control.Tara on the other hand seems to be more grounded, and maybe a little more accepting of events going on around them. I felt more of a connection with Tara, could see having some interesting conversations with her at least.

Now the guys, I liked G right away, he had me at his love for “old military and samurai movies” he picked out one of my favorites right away with the Great Escape. I can’t decide if I like Sam, mostly because of the relationship thing he has gotten himself into. The story is interesting, it includes some new age ideas, and while I found these fascinating, some may find them uncomfortable.

Follow the A Quarrel Called by Shannon Wendtland Blog Tour and don’t miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Shannon is a wife, mother, writer, database administrator and general pot-stirrer-turned-mystic. A Quarrel Called will be her first book in print.

 

One thought on “A Quarrel Called-Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

