Reviews

Review: We are The Ants

We Are the AntsWe Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received this book in arc form from a friend. I was super excited because I had just read some awesome reviews about it.

Let me get started:

I really liked Henry, I think I understand his view of the world. It is super hard to see the good in the world with the bad that goes with it. Henry gets abducted by aliens every once in awhile, and yes this may seem strange, but it fits with the story. I am not going to say I understand everything that goes on in Henry’s life. I do understand that teasing and having people make fun of you is a terrible way to get through school. It hurts and honestly working as an teacher’s assistant I still see it.

So there is a question, to press the button or not to press the button. It is a difficult question for Henry to answer, it would be a difficult question for many people to answer. Henry knows the people in his life who would and who wouldn’t.

He meets Diego, the new guy. Not I really thought Diego was a carefree person, but he doesn’t turn out as carefree. He also has an uphill battle to fight whens it comes to Henry and first gaining his friendship and then his love. Henry lost his previous boyfriend to suicide and is still missing him. Diego pushes pass his walls slowly, it builds into something that is really good in the end.

There are characters you are going to love and ones that you will grow to love. Also there are characters you are just going to hate. All of these kinds appear in this story

So who would I recommend this story to…well just about anyone, I really think there is a great message here. There are a few things which may be uncomfortable for a few people. However I still think you should read it.

I have to honest, I laughed and I cried, and I think when it came to the end, I was a little surprised. It was a good surprise, and I loved the book even more for it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

